Magasins généraux

Regards du Grand Paris au Magasins généraux
© kap.photography

Works by the artists from the first five years of the national photographic commission Regards du Grand Paris are presented at the Magasins généraux in the form of a thematic path specially laid out, allowing visitors a way of exploring ‘le Grand Paris’ step by step, its spaces, its landscapes, its cultures, attempting to fully comprehend the issues at stake in this changing land.

The exhibition is organized into five venues which offer many different perspectives and issues. Their vocabulary is an everyday one, city-driven, poetic. So “the street” is in front of the “monument,” moves along “the river,” crosses through “the park” and connects to “the square.” These places create the path for the visitors, in no particular order, both limited and infinite, facing the art works, a movement in the landscape of this city-world.

Regards du Grand Paris au Magasins généraux
© kap.photography

The setting for the exhibition, conceived by the architects Lucie Rebeyrol and Ian Ollivier, lays out these urban archetypes with the idea of showing a city in transition. The display rails in raw wood, replicating the theme of the construction site fences, and the use of basic construction materials such as cinder blocks and the straps which hold them up, echo the cement architecture already in place. These modules are placed on the ground floor level of the building, around a central street symbolically linking Paris intra-muros and ‘le Grand Paris.’ Chalk-colored fabrics, echoing the stone in historical Parisian buildings, flow through the show, highlighting the spaces of the five places included in it.

🗺 Download the exhibition map (in French).


Wednesday,- Sunday, 2-8 PM.
Evening hours Thursdays until 10 PM
Admission: free

Artistes

Camille Ayme, Aurore Bagarry, Julie Balagué, Sylvain Couzinet-Jacques, Raphaël Dallaporta, Hannah Darabi et Benoît Grimbert, Mathias Depardon and Guillaume Perrier, Gabriel Desplanque, Patrizia Di Fiore, Alassan Diawara, Sylvain Gouraud, Julien Guinand, Gilberto Güiza-Rojas, Lucie Jean, Karim Kal, Mana Kikuta, Assia Labbas, Lucas Leglise, Geoffroy Mathieu, Olivier Menanteau, Francis Morandini, Baudouin Mouanda, Khalil Nemmaoui, Marion Poussier, Marie Quéau, Maxence Rifflet, Sandra Rocha, Po Sim Sambath, Luise Schröder, Alexandra Serrano and Simon Pochet, Anne-Lise Seusse, Bertrand Stofleth, Zhao Sun, Chenxin Tang, Rebecca Topakian

Magasins généraux

1 rue de l'Ancien Canal
93500 Pantin
https://magasinsgeneraux.com/

Magasins généraux

Regards du Grand Paris au Magasins généraux
© kap.photography

Les œuvres des artistes des cinq premières années de la commande photographique nationale Regards du Grand Paris sont présentées aux Magasins généraux sous la forme d’un parcours thématique qui permet aux visiteuses et visiteurs d’explorer le Grand Paris pas à pas, ses espaces, ses paysages, ses cultures, et pour ainsi tenter de saisir les enjeux de ce territoire changeant.

L’exposition s’organise en cinq lieux qui représentent autant d’enjeux et de perspectives. Ils empruntent au vocabulaire quotidien, urbanistique et poétique. Ainsi, « la rue » passe devant le « monument », longe « le fleuve », traverse « le parc » et dessert « la place ». Ces lieux organisent un parcours de visite sans ordre, à la fois contraint et infini, face aux œuvres, comme une marche dans le paysage d’une ville monde.

Regards du Grand Paris au Magasins généraux
© kap.photography

La scénographie de l’exposition, conçue par les architectes Lucie Rebeyrol & Ian Ollivier, décline ces archétypes urbains avec la volonté d’évoquer une ville en transition. Les cimaises en bois brut, qui reprennent le motif de la palissade de chantier, et l’utilisation de matériaux de construction, comme les parpaings et les sangles de levage les tenant debout, entrent en écho avec l’architecture en béton du lieu. Ces modules se déploient aux rez-de-chaussée du bâtiment et s’organisent autour d’une rue centrale reliant symboliquement le Paris intra-muros et le Grand Paris. Des tissus couleur calcaire, comme celle de la pierre des bâtiments parisiens historiques, les traversent, esquissant dans l’espace chacun des cinq lieux composant l’exposition.

🗺 Téléchargez le plan de l’exposition.


Du mercredi au dimanche, de 14h à 20h
Nocturnes les jeudis jusqu’à 22h
Entrée libre et gratuite

Artistes

Camille Ayme, Aurore Bagarry, Julie Balagué, Sylvain Couzinet-Jacques, Raphaël Dallaporta, Hannah Darabi et Benoît Grimbert, Mathias Depardon et Guillaume Perrier, Gabriel Desplanque, Patrizia Di Fiore, Alassan Diawara, Sylvain Gouraud, Julien Guinand, Gilberto Güiza-Rojas, Lucie Jean, Karim Kal, Mana Kikuta, Assia Labbas, Lucas Leglise, Geoffroy Mathieu, Olivier Menanteau, Francis Morandini, Baudouin Mouanda, Khalil Nemmaoui, Marion Poussier, Marie Quéau, Maxence Rifflet, Sandra Rocha, Po Sim Sambath, Luise Schröder, Alexandra Serrano et Simon Pochet, Anne-Lise Seusse, Bertrand Stofleth, Zhao Sun, Chenxin Tang, Rebecca Topakian

Magasins généraux

1 rue de l'Ancien Canal
93500 Pantin
https://magasinsgeneraux.com/